5 new medical colleges with 150 MBBS seats each to come up in Andhra Pradesh, MBBS Admission from next academic year

Share this post on:

Amaravati: Providing the medical aspirants in Andhra Pradesh a reason to celebrate, Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences on Tuesday gave its nod for commencing academic activities in five new medical colleges of the State from the next academic year 2023-24.

Therefore, medical colleges at Eluru, Vizianagaram, Rajamahendravaram, Nandyal and Machilipatnam districts of the State will commence the MBBS admission process in 150 MBBS seats each.

In order to ensure that the academic activities get started by the next year, the posts of Principals and superintendents have already been filled.

Medical Dialogues had recently reported that issuing a Government Order, the State Government had notified about the creation of 3,530 posts for five new medical colleges and teaching hospitals across Andhra Pradesh.

The notification in this regard was issued by Chief Secretary M Ravi Chandra, Health, Medical and Family Welfare Department. The State Cabinet had given its approval to create 3,530 posts for the 5 new medical colleges at the rate of 706 posts for each one.

As per the GO, each of the five medical colleges were given 222 posts and each affiliated teaching hospitals got 484 posts in compliance with the National Medical Commission (NMC) norms.

The government is setting up 16 new medical colleges at a total cost of Rs 7,880 crore and has initiated measures to fill more than 40,000 posts in government hospitals. These new medical colleges will come up at Paderu, Vizianagaram, Anakapalli, Rajahmundry, Palakollu, Amalapuram, Eluru, Machilipatnam, Bapatla, Markapuram, Piduguralla, Madanapalli, Pulivendula, Penukonda, Adoni and Nandyal.

As per the latest media report by Sakshi Post, the Director of Medical Education of Andhra Pradesh, Dr. Raghavendra Rao informed that the district hospitals are being converted into teaching hospitals. He also mentioned that the process of application to NMC, seeking university affiliation would commence from Thursday onwards.

Share this post on:

Leave a Reply